Country Action List (CAL)

​The Department of Agriculture and Water Resources (the department) targets containers on high risk sea cargo pathways; for example, containers originating in Giant African Snail countries and  countries identified as having documented high levels of other high level contamination. These countries are included on a Country Action List (CAL). High risk pests include but are not limited to Giant African Snail (GAS), black spiny toads, exotic bees and ants; other contaminants include soil. 

Containers and non-containerised (breakbulk) cargo from countries listed on the CAL are inspected prior to release from the terminal, unless special arrangements have been made with the department. For more information please refer to the Sea Container Hygiene System. This information applies to the external inspection of CAL containers and break bulk cargo, as well as the internal inspection of CAL empty containers. The person in charge of the vessel carrying CAL containers or break bulk must report to the Department of Home Affairs (Home Affairs) 12 to 48 hours prior to vessel arrival.

Country Action List

All containers and break bulk from the following countries require full six sided inspection of external surfaces, in addition to internal inspection of empty containers discharged at Australian ports. If your cargo is imported from one of the countries listed below, it is imperative that you check the CAL status of your cargo with the relevant stevedore before arranging collection. This requirement applies irrespective of the container status indicated in the Department of Home Affairs’ Integrated Cargo System (ICS), or on the contingency container lists published on the Home Affairs or 1–STOP websites.

Note: This information applies to all Australian ports of discharge.
  • American Samoa
  • Benin
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Rep.
  • Chad
  • Christmas Island
  • Congo (Democratic Republic)
  • Cote d'Ivoire
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Fiji
  • French Polynesia
  • Gabon
  • Ghana
  • Guadeloupe
  • Guam
  • Hawaii
  • Madagascar
  • Maldives
  • Martinique
  • Micronesia (Federated States of)
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • New Caledonia
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Seychelles
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tanzania
  • Timor–Leste
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Wallis & Futuna
  • West Papua
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe