Australian Biosecurity Awards

​​​​The Australian Biosecurity Awards recognise individuals, groups and organisations in industry and government that show a commitment to working collaboratively with the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources to support and promote Australia's biosecurity and the systems that uphold it.

Award presentation ceremony

Winners of 2019 Australian Biosecurity Awards will be announced at the ABARES Outlook 2019 Conference in Canberra on Tuesday 5 March 2019.

To buy conference dinner tickets or register for the ABARES Outlook 2019 conference, please click here.

The 2019 award categories are:

  • David Banks Biosecurity Lifetime Achievement
  • Industry
  • Government
  • Farm Biosecurity Producer of the Year.

The awards

David Banks Biosecurity Lifetime Achievement Award

The David Banks Biosecurity Lifetime Achievement Award recognises an individual who has made an outstanding contribution beyond their normal duties to Australian biosecurity over a sustained period of time.

Previous winners have included Paul Kenny, Llew Russell, Paul Stephenson, Trevor Weatherhead, Bruce Christie and Trevor Beaver.

Industry and Government Awards

These awards recognise businesses, industry and government organisations, teams and individuals that:

  1. Design, implement and/or lead biosecurity reform initiatives within their organisation and/or industry sector to support Australia’s biosecurity integrity.
  2. Demonstrate significant biosecurity integrity and raise biosecurity awareness within their operations and/or industry sector.
  3. Collaboratively work with the department to manage biosecurity risk.
  4. Identify, report and/or lead the management of a disease outbreak or pest incursion.
  5. Report suspicious activities that may be of biosecurity concern.
  6. Make an outstanding contribution to protecting or maintaining animal or plant health.
  7. Raise awareness of Australia’s biosecurity requirements offshore.

Previous winners have included Vinehealth Australia, Kangaroo Island Freight Services, Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics, National banana freckle eradication program, deugro Projects Australia, Engall’s Nursery, Jason Toi of Knauf Plasterboard and the National Gallery of Australia.

Farm Biosecurity Producer of the Year Award

Australian primary producers, including individuals and organisations can be nominated. This comprises all forms of Australian farming, including large commercial operations, new and emerging niche industries and hobby-level farmers that:

  1. Demonstrate a sound understanding of the six biosecurity essentials of farm biosecurity:
    1. Farm inputs
    2. People, vehicles and equipment
    3. Production practices
    4. Feral animals and weeds
    5. Farm outputs
    6. Train, plan and record.
  2. Apply biosecurity practices relevant to their property/properties.
  3. Carry out biosecurity activities as best-practice preventative measures, rather than in response to specific threats.
  4. Show evidence of their biosecurity activities through planning, records, procedures etc.
  5. Advocate for proactive on-farm biosecurity practices among their peers.

The inaugural winner of the awards in 2018 was the Mackay Farming Group for their work on Panama disease tropical race 4 (TR4) and Rum Jungle Organics for their response to an outbreak of banana freckle on their property in 2013.

The Farm Biosecurity Producer of the Year Awards are sponsored by Animal Health Australia (AHA) and Plant Health Australia (PHA).

Details of the 2018 award recipients are outlined in ABA booklet.